Sad News

I just woke from my nap when I saw my phone and got several texts. All of them with a shocking and sad news: one of my close friends’ dad just passed away.

I was shocked and confused at the same time. It was shocking because I never know about her dad’s health condition, so I assume her dad was all healthy and safe. It was also confusing because I don’t know what to do. I texted her, but it was not delivered. Maybe she just want a time with herself.

So my friends and I came to her house yesterday. She is a Christian Bataknese and I never attend anyone but Muslim’s funeral. I remember I went to my uncle’s mom funeral with the cross on her grave, but no more than that.

I was hoping to comfort her. I can not resist to hug her, to make her sure that we will still support her, but my other friends had already comforted her. She was closer to her than me, after all.

Since I never went to Christian funeral, my eyes staring to every corner of her house. I saw the choir, the coffin, everything. It always interesting to see new things.

I really hope the family will still be strong after this, and my friend will get stronger than ever. My prayer always be with them.

N.

Leave a Reply

