Day 25 – A Character Who You Relate To The Most

Well, I wanted to steal Jaime Lannister’s famous quote:

There are no men like me. There is only me.

but NO. I would not say that I’m special or one of a kind, because I always remember Dash Parr from The Incredibles saying, “Everyone’s special is another way of saying no one is”. Anyone who thinks they are special tend to be arrogant and proud, and I hold this strong principal that The One who should be arrogant and proud is only Him, The Creator of The World.

via Goodreads

However, if you ask me what character that resembles me much from the book, I can not really say much. From movie, there are some. Violet Parr from The Incredibles is a character who look like me, think like me, and act like me. I also have similar way of thinking like Amelie from Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amelie Poulain. But she is from a movie, not book.

The good thing you can learn from book is that you are nothing. You will share some traits from a character, some personality, some way of thinking. And they all are from the authors’ mind.

I had no character in my mind, that is why I was postponed the challenge until I found the one. From a book that I read recently, Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, I feel that I am more Naoko at the first time. She was an introspective character, like me. But then I’m more drawn to Midori, with her curiosity about new things. The main character, Toru, shared my love of reading. Nagasawa shared my freedom of thinking and carelessness.

What I can say is, no one is really different and no one is really the same in one and other way. If I could quote Tyler Durdent (Fight Club <- on my waiting list!!!):

You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.

N.

Leave a Reply

