Review: Muhammad: His Life Based on the Earliest Sources

FINALLY AFTER MORE THAN A YEAR!

I will not review the story, since I believe this book has going through deep exploration of facts from classic sources (hey, it is the best Prophet SAW biography according to National Seerat Conference!). So, here’s the thing I have learned from this book so far:

The family tree of Arabians is very messed up!!
Uncles married to nieces, man married to many women, whose child is he, and so on. It would be nice if there is a detailed family tree for Prophet SAW and his Companions (there is one family tree but only shows from Quraysh to Our Prophet SAW).

I forgot the names as soon as they are mentioned…
Because there are soooo many! Moreover, Arabians have these “kunya” traditions, which is a tradition to call someone based on the name of their children. In fact, it is honorific. Maybe it is like calling Daenerys “mother of dragons”. But, it also makes me confused………

Misleading history
For Indonesian children, it is taught that every women in Prophet’s life has “Siti”. Like Siti Khadijah, Siti Aminah, Siti Aisyah, Siti Fatimah.. But after living in this world for 20+ years, I just realized that it is a big lie! “Siti” is actually something Indonesians (or maybe Melayus.. There are still Siti Nurhaliza, you know) add for some unknown reasons. I have found some silly articles on the Internet made by Indonesians that claims Prophet SAW is from Indonesia because “Siti” is not an Arabic name!!! Crazy, right?? But several people told me that “Siti” is actually from “Sayyidati”, a honorific name like “Lady” in the West. Still, it is unforgivable for me to mislead many people like this.

Noble family
Prophet SAW is from noble family and also charismatic inside out. I don’t know why it is never mentioned in my Islamic lesson but also not surprised by that information. I mean, it is just make sense! No wonder he got many support (and also enemies) by the time of the Revelation of the Quran.

His birth was on many prophecies
He is already waited by many people at that time. And at the end of his life, the Prophet SAW made several sayings that can be considered prophecies, such as the end of the world and Islam condition after his death.

Losing information
Because I read this in English, I might have lost some information here and there. The English used are so advanced (for me) and the translations for the Revelation always use Shakespearian English (thee, thine, thou, etc). But at least I learned a lot new vocabularies!

Well, maybe that’s all. I still need to do some small “research” to confirm the history I have got from this book. Overall, anyone who is interested in Prophet Muhammad SAW’s life should read this very detailed book.

xoxo

N

Leave a Reply

